Eagle Service Projects. Eagle Pride. - The National Eagle Scout Association

Eagle Service Projects. Eagle Pride.

The National Eagle Scout Association (NESA) established the Glenn A. and Melinda W. Adams National Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year Award (ESSPY) to recognize valuable service of an exceptional nature by a Scout to a religious institution, a school, community, or other entity. The award recognizes a Scout’s Eagle Scout Service Project, which is a requirement to earn the rank of Eagle Scout.

Nominations Submitted

The National Service Territories (NST) have selected their ESSPY winners from the 2021 Eagle Scout Class. The Eagle Scout Service Project for each NST winner will undergo a final review to determine a national winner. 

To be considered for the ESSPY, a Scout must have completed their Eagle Scout Board of Review during the 2021 calendar year and applied to their local council.

New Selection Process

This year, the selection process underwent restructuring and now consists of three levels: Council, National Service Territory, and a National winner. An Eagle Scout must win the previous level to advance in the process. 

The process starts when a local NESA committee selects a council winner from their pool of project nominees. All winners will receive a device for the Eagle Scout embroidered knot and an embroidered patch: 

  • Bronze for Council 
  • Silver for National 
  • Gold for National Service Territory 

Timing & Recognition

The selection of the national recipient will occur in late April, with an official announcement recognizing all recipients coming later in the spring. 

The national recipient of the ESSPY will receive a cash award of $3,500, available for the Scout’s future educational purposes or to attend a national or international Scouting event or venue. 

NST honorees not selected as the national recipient will receive a $300 cash prize to be used in the same fashion. 

Calling All 2022 Eagle Scouts

ESSPY nominations are being accepted now for Eagle Scouts who complete their boards of review in 2022. Nominations can be submitted by an Eagle Scout, the Scout’s parents, or any registered BSA volunteer (with the Eagle Scout’s permission).

Contact your local NESA Committee to learn how, or download an application by clicking here.