NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award - The National Eagle Scout Association

NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award

The National Eagle Scout Association established the NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award (NOESA) to commemorate the Boy Scouts of America’s 100th Anniversary in 2010. Since its inception, the award has become an important recognition among Eagle Scouts, recognizing their distinction, with less stringent* requirements required for the prestigious Distinguished Eagle Scout Award (DESA).

Known by its acronym, a NOESA is approved by NESA’s national award committee via nomination through a local council NESA committee.  The award is presented solely to Eagle Scouts who demonstrate remarkable achievements well beyond their Scouting endeavors by excelling in their careers/vocations at local, regional, or national levels.  NOESA recipients Inspire others through their positive actions, demonstrating excellence in their chosen professions, hobbies, community service, and adherence to religious beliefs. Notable past recipients include authors, explorers, television personalities, military leaders, scientists, medical doctors, academics, clergy, government officials, prominent business figures, and entrepreneurs.

The presentation of the NOESA must be conducted with the honor expected of a national-level award and preferably presented by a Distinguished Eagle Scout or other distinguished citizen.   When properly presented in a dignified manner, a local Council’s recognition and related publicity of NOESA recipients serves to elevate the public stature and reputation of Eagle Scouts while enhancing community goodwill.

Such recognition may be posted on

*The DESA requires a 25-year period regarded as the minimum average time necessary to achieve fame, eminence, or distinction within a profession. Additionally, the DESA requires far more rigorous justification, documentation, and investigation before approval.

Mike Walton Portrait

Recognition as a NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout encouraged me to further give my time, talents, and treasures to support the program I love and have influenced families and youth to be a part of.

Mike Walton
Transatlantic Council (Europe/Africa/Middle East/Central
Asia) NOESA recipient/NESA Life Member.


  • The nominee must be an Eagle Scout in good standing with the Boy Scouts of America and must either be registered with or have their primary residence within the boundaries of the nominating council. 
  • There is no specific timeline required to qualify for this award after earning the Eagle Rank. Therefore, in extremely rare cases, it is possible that a truly outstanding youth, such as an Olympic athlete, may be eligible for selection.    
  • The nominating council should retain details regarding actions and accomplishments that led to the nominee’s consideration for the award.  Only the data required by the nomination form should be submitted to the National Eagle Scout Association. 
  • Nominations must be sent to the National Eagle Scout Association by the council’s designee.  Individuals may not submit nominations.  

Special Considerations

  • Each council NESA committee may present two NOESA honors per year, with an option of awarding an additional NOESA for every 100 Eagle Scout ranks earned, or fraction thereof in excess of 100 awards certified during the previous year. Unused allotments are not carried over into future years. 
  • Nominees should not be informed of nomination; presentation should only be scheduled after NESA has provided NOESA credentials to the council. Allow two to four weeks for processing. 
  • Approvals are based on policies and procedures in effect at the time nominations are received by the  National Eagle Scout Association.  
  • The award may be presented at a meeting of the recipient’s peers or at a Scouting function. Presentation should be made within the council submitting the nomination and, whenever possible, by a previous recipient of the award. It is appropriate that the award is presented as part of a fundraising activity. 


Local NESA Committee Addition or Update Request

Use of this email will be for internal NESA Communications and will not be public facing.
Use of this email will be for internal NESA Communications and will not be public facing.